Teaching Staff and Governors


Mrs J Betts

Deputy Head

Mrs S Eastwood

Senior Teacher

Mr B Dunne



Mrs E Burton

Designated Safeguarding Leads

Mr B Dunne

Mrs J Betts


Classroom Teachers: 

Mrs A Kelman -Year R
Mr B Dunne – Year 1
Miss K O’Grady – Year 2
Mrs S Jennings – Year 3
Mrs E Burton -Year 4
Mrs S Eastwood & Mrs H Sheehan -Year 5
Mr W Hopkins – Year 6


Mrs S Curtis

Teaching Assistants Mrs B Game Miss F Hodgson Mrs L Perkins Mrs S Smith Miss C Summers Ms R Thompson Ms J Howard Mrs A Wright School Office Mrs C Brown – School Bursar / Data Protection Officer Mrs F Pipe – Office Manager Mrs J Clark – Administration Assistant Ms J Howard – Finance Officer Other Support Staff Mr J Esteves – School Caretaker Mrs C Allinson – School Cook Miss F Hodgson – Breakfast Club Leader Mr J Hurd – PE coach Mrs D Freestone – Music Teacher   MDSA’s  Mrs S Creasey – Senior MDSA Mrs C Green Mrs S Kaur Mrs M Catania Mrs K Ponrajadurai Mrs L Perrott Mrs M Macgregor Vicar Rev M Prentice        

The Role of the Governing Body The governing body is responsible for the conduct of its school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement at the school. It is the school’s accountable body and:

  • provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework. It appoints and performance manages the headteacher, agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting statutory targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures;
  • monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance of the headteacher, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy;
  • signs off the self-evaluation process and responds to school improvement service and Ofsted reports as necessary. In addition it holds the headteacher to account for the performance of the school and ensures that parents are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate, with information to the community being made available as required

The Governors meet as a whole group twice a term and at one of the meetings a representative of the LA is present as clerk.  In between, the various sub-committees and working groups meet.  Minutes of these meetings are circulated to all Governors electronically.  The Governors have to have some committees by law, for Hearings, Appeals and Pupil Discipline.  At St John’s CE VA Primary School, we also have committees for Admissions, Finance, Personnel and Curriculum. Email our governors office@st-johns.suffolk.sch.uk  

Governors Behaviour Written Statement

Governors Pecuniary Interests 2022 – 23

Governors Additional Information  2022-23

Governor Meeting Attendance 2021-22